Posted by: sonewjersey | October 21, 2009

Featured Plungers: Janis’ Story

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Everyone has their own reasons to “Take the Plunge”.  Some do it for fun, some do it on a dare, but everyone does it to support the cause.  We’ve received some pretty interesting pictures and stories from people over the last few weeks as to why they Plunge.  Here’s Janis Oliver’s reason for Plunging! 

Janis and Joe

WHY I PLUNGE:

Some of my friends think I’m completely insane for voluntarily running into the frigid waters of the Atlantic Ocean.  There is a method to my madness though… Special Olympics.  The first year I did it, I expected the worse.   It honestly wasn’t that bad.  Yes it’s cold but the cold is only temporary, your adrenaline and the good feeling that you’re doing something decent keeps you warm. 

I’ve been back every year since my first Plunge in 2007.  I first Plunged with 3 people…and each year [we] have added another Plunger to the group.  I’ll be back again this year with more people, a warm heart, and a desire to help a good cause.

  

Thanks Janis for your kind words, and support! 

Why do you Plunge?  Do you have a story you would like to be featured on our blog?  Comment here, and let us know!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

